Up and Down!!!

*honk honk*
*cabin crew sit down for takeoff*
*madam we tried everything………*
*vrrrooom vrrrrooooom*
*Goodnight baby…..*
*he ran a red light…….*
*Inhaler…..Cant breathe…….*
*The building fell…….*
*BOOOOOOM!!!!*
*so much blood……*
*he has a gun *screaming*……*
*BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP………*

He was just everywhere. Every fucking place I checked, he smiled back at me. I knew he could see me and for that, I was even more terrified. My breathing exercises couldn’t calm me down. Paranoia was my best friend. Its not my time! ITS NOT MY FUCKING TIME! Leave me alone….I screamed….I screamed….I screamed but that only seemed to excite him. SICK MOFO! SICK SICK SICK……I was sick. They said it was malaria. I thought it was HIV…..I was a hypochondriac….yea yea….sue me. I did say paranoia was my best friend. I grew tired of the constant fear. Weary….tired….weary. Help me please. Somebody, anybody. My mates seemed to be leaving me. RIP everywhere. What the hell was happening? Things weren’t meant to go down like this. This wasn’t the plan. This wasn’t the plan at all. Bimbo left. Lateef Left. Uwem Left. Habiba Left. Mercy Left. Paul Left. Come back. Come back. I sobbed. Rocking back and forth. Again he smiled. That sideways mocking grin of his. FUCK YOU VERY MUCH. I’d never hated anyone as much as I hated him. My hate didn’t match my fear though. I kept looking behind me. Checking the shadows. Paranoia was now my lover. Check check check he’d taunt. And like the doll I was, I checked. I was now ashamed. There was a greater being but even that didn’t comfort me. He said my child do not be afraid. Yea right….easier said than done. I closed my eyes….tight….I felt a change…….

I was in a room. He was there as well. NOOOOOOO! I couldn’t find any door. No exit. I was trapped. In the middle of the room was a chair, a table and what looked like a rod coming out of the floor and exactly the same length as the chair and on top of it, a flat piece of wood. It looked like a makeshift chair. On the table was a piece of paper. I approached the table. Sat on the proper chair and looked at the paper….

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Invite him to the table

I invited him to the table. He came. I had taken the chair so only the makeshift chair was left. He took it.

2. Invite him to play up and down.

I didn’t know what up and down was but ok
He accepted my invitation.

3. Now both of you stand up. The first person to sit when the bell rings wins

This was getting more confusing. We both stood up. There was a tension in the air. I knew I had to win.

The bell rang……

We both sat.

He screamed. His face twisted in agony. For some reason at that point I felt a weird sense of relief. I glanced at his chair and the piece of wood had disappeared. He had half of the rod up his ass. I smiled….

4. Do not be afraid. Laugh.

I didn’t see him again till I was ninety two. At that time, I was ready. He couldn’t even look me in the eye cos of what I knew. A round of up and down for old time’s sake?? He ignored me. I smiled……….

To all the souls that have departed, Rest In Peace.

Adieu………….

About Nono

I consider myself an artist who has no need for paint. In love with creativity. Welcome to my canvas :).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Up and Down!!!

  1. Slim says:

    I don’t understand!! ARGH!!!!!

  2. jayajade says:

    AWESOME!!!!!!! Me likey a lot ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Dotbabe says:

    Beautiful! Been reading your blog but this is the first time I’m commenting. You’re very very talented. Great job! And RIP mum :*

  4. MzLucyM says:

    Wow! Absoluteley luvd dis.!!! (Y)

  5. thetoolsman says:

    Nono o.. and I thought I was in a weird place.. oya confess.. you took some “ginjah” before you wrote this.. ahn ahn… this is sick.. I see metaphors.. I see a wager.. life.. death… chei..

  6. uba shagi says:

    Smils….jst sittin in ma office sinc I can’t laugh out,,, am jst smiliiing….

  7. jennifer duke says:

    Nice..

  8. Listener says:

    Don’t totally understand it, but u controlled the tempo of the story quite brilliantly; my heartbeat only slowed at the point of “Do not be afraid, laugh”. Good work.

  9. Kamizee says:

    Death, life… RIP to the departed souls…..

  10. @oladayodejavu01 says:

    Hmmmm. Deep sturv. Very deep sturv

  11. DemiladeR says:

    Brilliant

  12. StephanieIj says:

    My grandmum died in January at 92 as well. Beautiful Nono.

  13. ZARA says:

    death really needs to hit the gym and prolly take some red bull, ๐Ÿ˜

    …never scared tho,

    after all, it is kinda inevitable…

    i hope i get to play russian roulette with him… ermm

    brilliant writing b

  14. mo' says:

    Wow this is sick.amazing write up I haven’t seen death described in such a way.(Y)

  15. Betty says:

    Nono, you’re a brilliant writer! I’m sharing this with everyone I know..

    On this note, I’d like to say a prayer- May he stay away from us and ours.. Amen.

  16. PhOEnix says:

    This left me a bit more confused than about 5 mins ago….
    ….All the same, I think I like the “Stephen King-y” zing to it!

  17. 'Dania says:

    I don’t have the words. *salutes*

  18. hisnameisay says:

    nice piece, ddnt quite undrstnd @first buh gt it twards d end…

  19. aldmoni says:

    Brilliant & breathtaking.

  20. O boy! This is some ish mehn…dis is actually my first time on your blog…But after wat u did on the VM remix, there was no doubt in my mind ur blog would be tight…great stuff…
    Of which…see as dem jus wash death…chai…ase ko ti e le…

  21. hotspice says:

    The bell rangโ€ฆโ€ฆ

    We both sat.

    He screamed. His face twisted in agony. For some reason at that point I felt a weird sense of relief. I glanced at his chair and the piece of wood had disappeared. He had half of the rod up his ass. I smiledโ€ฆ.

    My fave part….

  22. kechilauren says:

    Nono! This is beautiful!

  23. Ola-Tokunbo says:

    Takes the term ‘Up yours’ to new depths of perception, don’t it?! Beautiful and very inspiring read, ma’am…

  24. Oma says:

    Sick metaphor. This isa really nice. R.I.P to all the departed souls.

  25. Dee says:

    Absolutely Brialliant…..

  26. mizzkenzo says:

    Beautiful writing.
    As always
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. kitkat says:

    I love this!! the dude is death abi?? you write so well ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. @Qurr says:

    WOW!

    Awesome!!!!!!!!

    He was confident about his speed at sitting-down. He was experienced. They sat at the same time but even if he sat down first… oooooucccch…. he sat too hard! ๐Ÿ˜€

    R.I.P. Mum and others.

Leave a Reply

