Of Baby Steps and Results…….

Over the past 3 years, I have been on a journey to get the ideal body. I lost 25kg dropping to 62kg but I felt I was too skinny. I started putting on weight again and got introduced to weights. I decided to do only weights without cardio and that again was not satisfactory. I built muscle but I was still largely bigger than I wanted to be.

Two days ago, I came across bodybuilding.com where I found a ton of training programs targeted at different results. From reading different articles on the site, I have come to realize that the ideal workout for me is a combination of cardio and weights….that’s the only way I will get down in size while also building muscle. I picked the 12-week “Lean body program” and I started yesterday. One of the reasons I did not put up a post yesterday (I started typing but I never finished). Between my hectic work schedule, shopping for the right supplies for the program and actually beginning the program, I was drained physically and mentally. 

Day1 of the program was a huge success. I started with weights focusing on my arms and ended with 26mins of high intensity cardio training (HICT). Believe me when I say the burn was felt lol! The entire day got me thinking of why it was such a success. There were some things I accomplished that I had originally thought I wouldn’t be able to (the HICT) in particular.

The first thing I think I did well was my research. There were so many programs on the site that promised results in a shorter period of time but they were all extremely intense. I want to be able to pace myself. 12 weeks isn’t such a long time in the grand scheme of things and it’s not like I have some deadline. I’m not competing with anyone but myself. 

The second thing was preparation. There were a couple of items I had to get in order to stick to the meal plan. I could have decided to just start and go with the flow but I’m so sure the day would not have been as successful if I had done that. Preparation is so key to success. This is echoed and re-echoed in my workplace. Very few things are as embarrassing as an unprepared salesman during a pitch. Even for job interviews etc, preparation is so fundamental. If you follow me on snapchat, you would have seen my 200+ seconds of preparation yesterday lol!

The last but not the least is to pace yourself till you cross the finish line. I had 26mins of cardio and different reps of weight work. Because of small goals like completing 10 reps to make a set or running for 2mins then increasing resistance, I was able to finish. Often times, we expect to hit the goal at a stretch and most times, we stop short of the destination. Tiny goals help you celebrate your little accomplishments till you achieve your desired result.

Today is day 2 and I can’t wait for 6pm so I head to the gym. I’m taking my journey one day at a time and I plan to celebrate each day I stay on track like I just won the lottery šŸ˜Š. Set those little goals today…remember, many baby steps equal one giant stride.

Be great,

Enobong.

About Nono

I consider myself an artist who has no need for paint. In love with creativity. Welcome to my canvas :).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment